Indication of MS to non-sufferers.

For anyone with physical symptoms of MS, when functioning in public how have you visually indicated to people that you have MS without having to explain that verbally all the time?

I have use of one arm only, with unusable arm hanging motionless. I work in a shop and although I don’t mind an occasional question, it gets tiresome being judged for it.

A sunflower lanyard (to indicate an invisible disability) has invited false assumptions rather than to quell them.

You could go for an unsubtle t-shirt?

Workplace has a uniform so use of own clothes isn’t possible. I dont want to hide my disability, even if I could. I simply don’t want false assumptions made by people seing my unused arm or lanyard. Examples of these interactions:
-“is your arm broken?” (no, just unusable)
-“would putting it in a sling help?” (no, as it is hard to apply with other arm only)
-laughing/staring from people assuming I must have a mental disability too (no, I don’t but if I did, I would not deserve that attitude)
-ostracised in public

most people are fine but sadly the a-holes stick with you.

That’s really tough, particularly when you’re in a public-facing role rather than just with colleagues who know the score. Maybe a short phrase like ‘I’m afraid I only have the use of only one arm’ could help when delivered with a cool ‘end of message’ smile, but I’m sure you’ve tried every variation on that already!

1 Like

I have many friendly conversations with customers about it too, which puts things in perspective, and keeps my feet on the ground. If I was them, I can’t pretend I wouldn’t be curious too so I respect an honest, straightforward question knowing they (and myself) could learn from it.

I also have some colleagues who, although I shouldn’t expect them to care, think it’s justifiable to exclude me or treat me like I only capable of ‘x’ when I can still ‘y’ or ‘z’, if I do it my own way. I am limited but not incapable.