Weak forefinger

Hi, I know that in the grand scheme of things a weak forefinger might not seem that important but it’s starting to impact on my life. I’m an artist and my right forefinger is a fundamental part of what I do. It’s been slow for a while but now I can’t always hold a pencil or scalpel properly and I can’t do simple things like butter a piece of bread properly. I just wonder if anyone’s got any tips to strengthen my finger or to get it to do something more than it’s doing now? Looking it up on the internet everything seems to be geared towards carpal tunnel syndrome or trigger finger which is to do with inflammation, I have no pain, it’s just not behaving!

Many thanks

Becky x

Hi Becky,

You’re wrong. A dodgy finger in the world of art is a very big deal. I worked as an industrial artist for 18 years and holding pens, pencils, scalpels and brushes were something I didn’t have to think about.

Although I don’t have your particular problem I can empathise. The only thing I can suggest is a splint or finger brace; but I understand that you also need a degree of flexibility in the finger too.

Have a look online, there are a variety of cheap options to choose from. Even better, ask your GP for a referral to a physiotherapist for expert advice.

Best wishes

Anthony (Dip AD MCSD rtd)

1 Like

Thank you very much for your reply. I always feel it’s a big deal to me but trying to explain to someone that use of my hands is more important than the use of my legs somehow seems wrong so thanks for understanding! I will ask my GP about it.

Thanks again

Becky x

1 Like

Good luck and let me know how you get on. Anthony