Can't use right hand

Numbness / pins and needles started in my right (dominant) hand a few months ago and have gradually been getting worse. Using that hand to write, type or use a mouse is harder, and actually makes the numbness worse.

I’m trying to type / mouse using my left hand only, but it’s quite frustrating and full of mistakes, a bit of a blow when I’m trying to do my job which requires typing and drawing diagrams. I’m lucky that my Employer wants to be supportive, they’ve already done things to accommodate my leg problems and I can’t fault them. Where I’m struggling is to find adaptations that might actually help. Googling brings back lots of suggestions from left handed typing courses to left handed keyboards but there are so many options I’m hoping someone out there actually has some experience of trying such things. Voice recognition software isn’t appropriate for my job as I’m a computer programmer so it’s not like I’m typing normal sentences.

Also, any experience of ways to actually help drawing / writing, I try and use pens with grips but still find it makes the numbness worse. I suspect if there was a mad contraption that made writing easier then I’d have heard of it, but if you never ask you never know!

Thanks

Hi Trippy, would be worth asking your GP to refer you for physio. There are exercises which might help your hands… and if there are gadgets that would help, the physio will know.

You can buy very chunky pens. Not sure if that would help. Any of the disability shopping sites will sell them.

Keep in mind that your hand may well improve again. As I was just saying on another post, things still come and go with PPMS so doesn’t mean you’re stuck with it for life.

Some sites sell ‘therapy putty’ which can help hands. It’s just putty that you squeeze and play with when watching TV or whatever.