UTIs , how bad ?

Hi ,

How badly can having a uti affect your MS ?

My MS started playing up a bit about 4 weeks ago, I had no symptoms of a uti ,but sent in a sample anyway just to check and it turned out I did. After a week of antibiotics I was almost back to my ‘normal’.

Fast forward to this past week and I feel like I’ve been hit by the MS bus, all of my MS symptoms have gotten so much worse.

It feels like a relapse , or could it be that my uti isn’t sorted ? Could a uti affect me this badly ?

This is actually the worst I’ve ever been, I feel (and look) like a very heavy drunk toddler, and I can’t take another sample in or contact my MS nurse until Monday.

I’m hoping it’s just an infection , I’ve been doing really well on Lemtrada , no relapses for two years.

Any input welcome

June x

june, sorry but i can’t offer any advice.

just rest well, get others to run around after you.

hoping there is nothing to worry about.

1 Like

The UTI might have got worse it can even with anti biotics.I would see a dr as they can become serious quite quickly if not treated.Infact some ot the anti biotics they give you for a UTI can cause a UTI,silly i know but true.

Hello June

Did your GPs confirm to you that the bacteria causing your UTI were ‘sensitive’ to the antibiotics you were given? Sometimes a GP surgery will see there’s an infection, give you a course of (Eg) Trimethoprim or Nitroferantoin, without following up with whatever the lab isolates the specific bacteria as. This often seems to clear up the UTI, but within days the infection is back.