'Sunshine pill' and tests

Hiya

I have seen many posts on the ‘sunshine’ vitamin but have not really followed them too much.

I always thought that when I was a kid I was always outside playing in the sun - so it can’t mean too much …until now…

I had a blood test back in March and the GP put me on 10,000iu a day. This has now finished and the latest blood test states my level has increased to 136 and I was originally stumbling around on …13.

Sooooo, I’m now a GP pet project and I don’t take anything for 6 months and another blood test and take it from there…

Interesting…

Marty

Hi Marty,

It needs continuous replenishment, as it can’t be stored in the body for very long, so you can’t rely on having got a good dose years ago.

I’m a bit concerned your doctor has taken you off supplements altogether, as an experiment, when it’s obvious you are prone to deficiency (as are many of us with MS), and it still didn’t come out that high, even after weeks of hefty supplementation. I’m sure it’s back within the range the NHS regards as acceptable, but their guidelines are pretty out-of-date, and don’t reflect the latest research.

I’m guessing that after six months with no supplementation at all, you’d be back to severe deficiency. I’m sure your GP will find it “interesting”, but it doesn’t sound like an experiment that’s in your best interests. :frowning:

Tina

I have just been told that my vit D level is 16. Doctor has put me on 30,000iu twice a week for 5 weeks then I have another blood test.

Will I notice any difference once I have been on the tablets for a while? I’m hoping it’ll increase my energy!

Lyn

Hiya Tina

Thanks for your reply.

Nothing to loose really. I suppose in 6 months it will be a test again and maybe if it’s that low to start about supplements. How long was I that low for? Years? Has it had an effect on MS? No one knows?

I’m sure, written somewhere, mentioned that as long as you get enough sun in the summer months it will see you through winter?