Forum

Shaking in hand

Hi Everyone

I want to get some advice if possible. I have notice recently I have a shaking in my right hand and lower right arm that has become increasingly worse. The thing is that it only happens when my arm is resting like if I rest my arm on the table or on the keyboard of the computer. What I wondered was is this an MS thing or could it be a trapped nerve. Any advice would be grateful.

Hi I suffer with this too, it’s bad again at the moment and it seems to be when I do a lot of typing or writing as I’m right handed. It starts as I seem to relax it and then as I do more it gets worse and I have to just take a break and let it pass as much as it will. I have occasionally had it the left too when I’ve carried something heavy.

I’m afraid I’m new to all this and don’t know what the answer is , but hopefully someone may be able to help x

Highly likely to be an MS thing, I’m afraid, and is called…guess what… “resting tremor”, because it happens when the limb is at rest.

The other kind that sometimes happens is called “intention tremor” - i.e. where you have the intention to do something - e.g. you reach out to touch/grasp something, and instead of the movement being smooth and efficient, your hand (or leg, if you were trying to step onto something) starts to shake.

I think there may be some drugs for tremor, but I don’t have personal experience. It all depends how severe it is, whether you want to bother.

I only have resting tremor in certain very specific situations - the most notable being on the loo, of all places! It seems that something about the exact height of the loo, and where the weight is resting, sets up a tremor in my legs. As I’m not on the loo that much (though it’s getting more), and it can usually be stopped immediately just by shifting my position slightly, I’ve never felt it’s worth reporting, let alone medicating.