Sensitive Teeth

I’ve been diagnosed RRMS coming up for a year, so I’m still getting to grips with the disease and I’m very new to talking about symptoms. I’ve had long lasting sensitive teeth (for a few months) where normally I don’t suffer too much. Both sides of my mouth now, so chewing and eating is difficult. My dentist ‘patched’ a couple of teeth but it doesn’t seem to help and I’m getting like electric shocks through my teeth, like if you bite on silver foil with a filling by accident. I can’t tolerate cold food or water and have to use warm water when I brush my teeth. It was the same sort of electric shock feeling as I had going down my leg when I had my lumbar puncture. Has anyone else had this, I’m wondering if it could be my MS? I’m using sensitive toothpaste and mouth wash but it’s not helping much at all.

oh that’s not nice at all.

i have sensitive teeth myself but the sensitive toothpaste works for me.

Could you possibly be grinding your teeth in your sleep? I had terribly sore teeth years ago and I ended up getting a mouth guard made to wear at night. Problem solved! Might be worth asking your dentist about it x

It sounds like trigeminal neuralgia,thats quite common with MS.i get it one one side of my face, and its like you describe severe electric shock type pains that can come in your teeth and your jaw, its awful.

J x

iv had trouble with that too, it comes asnd goes. My dentist tells me there is nothing wrong with my teeth but because ms can affect anything thats to do with our nervous systems it may well be just the nerves in my teeth being effected by the ms. I had the same problem with my left ear, nothing ‘mechanically’ wrong with my ear

This can come and go but i would recommend sensitive toothpaste