Forum

Newly Diagnosed-but something doesn't seem right

Hi All!

This is my first time posting here but like my many other people I’ve spent many years reading other peoples stories on here and they’ve been so useful over my journey and it’s the fact that I know so many people here are so knowledgeable and ready to help that I thought I’d come here for some honest advice.

6 years ago, after years of fatigue and some strange episodes of facial palsy, I was admitted to hospital with what everyone thought was a stroke. I was mostly recovered 24 hours later, but my MRI showed 3 lesions and my consultant neuro put the episode down as a cis but diagnosed silent (no headache) hemiplegic migraines and I was given topirimate.

For the next 5 years under my old GP, my fatigue continued to worsen, and despite my medication, I continued to have stroke like symptoms. In fact, they were taking longer to resolve to the point where the right side of my face is permanently numb, so is my left arm,I constantly struggle with words, brain fog, all the fun stuff!

After a move to a new area and a new GP, I explained that I was concerned that my symptoms were totally inconsistent with my diagnosis and I had further tests, the upshot being a diagnosis of MS on Monday morning.

And here is where I would like peoples expertise. Something about my diagnosis does not ring true to me. Although I have many symptoms consistent with MS, I did not have any o bands in my LP results. I have more lesions on my MRI but these could be as a result of my migraines as far as I’m aware. I also had a vitamin B12 level of 121 before beginning topirimate, which is 1 point above protocol for treatment in my health authority area but I know to be very low and it has never been tested since, which just seems a daft oversight. I can’t help but wonder if my problems could be something much more simple than they currently seem?

Any musings gratefully taken on board!

Hi Nicki