Newbie post

Hi everyone, newbie here. My name is jenn, I’m 41 and recently diagnosed with MS. My symptoms came out of the blue, literally over night at the start of June.
My whole body from the neck down has no feeling, I struggle to walk even with a stick and the fatigue is unreal. My symptoms have never got any better from day one and about 4 weeks ago they just got a lot worse.
I received my diagnosis over the phone 5 weeks ago and I’m still yet to see an ms nurse or consultant to discuss medication. I have been doing physio twice weekly for 4 weeks and the occupational therapist is visiting me tomorrow.
My world has been turned upside down, I thought it was something that happened when you were younger.

I am so sorry hun. Who diagnosed you on the phone? I find it odd that the neurologist would not have gone through things with you at the time and to tell you over the phone is terrible. what type of MS is it etc. Obviously you have been given a team but there seems to have been a few steps missing here. hugs.

1 Like

Sorry about your symptoms and diagnosis I am less than impressed by this shabby treatment. I really hope that you get some better face to face support soon.
Mick

1 Like

I dont think its uncommon for a diagnoses over the phone at the moment, as with alot of things, its because of covid. I was diagnosed last year and i havent met my consultant or ms nurse.

The good news is you have found your way here, and there is loads of advice, empathy and support here

take care

1 Like

Hey. Sorry to hear your news. I’m 40 and was diagnosed just under two years ago. My symptoms aren’t so bad but the shock also hit me hard. Try to stay positive and message on here as and when you feel the need :slight_smile:

2 Likes