New diagnosis - Is it safe to travel?

Hi,
My name is Dafydd, I am 23 years old and I have recently been diagnosed with MS. I am currently studying for an anthropology masters in Amsterdam. As part of this masters, I am required to do a 3 month field study. I am thinking of going to South Africa to do my research. I am however concerned how this well relate to my new condition. I have read a lot of things on the internet and I have come across a few concerns relating to having a relapse. I have not had one yet and I am afraid that it might happen in the 3 months I am in in South Africa away and if I am on the other side of the world, will this make it a more emotional and difficult experience to deal with? I am not really a homely person and don’t rely on home comforts and I consider myself to be fairly independent and I would not have thought twice about doing this research if I have had not have been diagnosed with MS. So this is new for me and I have not experienced a relapse so I am not sure what to expect? The symptoms I had when MS first came apparent were double vision which lasted for a couple of weeks and instability/dizziness/tiredness which lasted a lot longer, maybe two/three months. Is there any relationship between original symptoms and relapse symptoms in terms of length? Also, is there any relationship between temperatures and relapses as it will be summer in South Africa? And whilst having a relapse, is my immune system weaker/more susceptible to picking up other diseases/infections/bacteria that could cause more damage? If anyone has any professional advice or personal experiences related to this, I would be very grateful.
Kind regards,
Dafydd

Hi Dafydd i don’t have any answers for you as i am awaiting diagnosis but your post was on the second page so doubtful anyone would spot it and reply. this should bump it up and hopefully get you some responses from people who can help.