Forum

Do you get more grumpy during flareups???

Hi all,

I'm just curious - when you go through a flare up, do you feel more grumpy or irritable?  I have not yet been diagnosed, but I do suspect that I went through some sort of flare up a while back.  And whilst it could be all in my imaginiation, I noticed that I was MUCH less tolerant to everything during the time.  Even the slightest things would annoy me. 

If the kids were talking to me while I was trying to do something else, I would get almost panicky about not being able to concentrate and often found myself snapping at them.  Everything seemed more 'urgent', if that makes sense. 

Example: I'm busy working on an assignment (I'm a part time student) and my daughter is trying to talk to me at the same time.  Normally I'd say "I'm working on an assignment. You'll have to wait until I'm finished".  But instead I got snappy with her and felt quite panicky... I URGENTLY needed her to step away from me, but she wasn't actually doing anything wrong. 

It's like everything is more irritating and heightened when I'm having a bad day/week. Is it just me, or is this something that most other people experience, too?

Hallo Heather,

I don't think this is necessarily a symptom, per se.

Doesn't everyone get more grumpy when they're feeling tired and ill?

In that respect, at least, MS is no different to any other illness.  Of course you're not going to be at your saintly and sparkling best, when you're having an attack of some damn illness.

Don't worry, it's normal!

Tina

Hello Heather

Everything you say rings true with me.  I am exactly the same.

You have explained it perfectly.

I can get very snappy and the worse i feel the worse i bite! lol!!

It is a feeling that your emotions are running away from you and you have no control of them.

I thought it was just me - so thanks for that.

Teresa. x

I’m grumpy all the time so no one will notice the difference