when does dx sink in??

hi all put a post on a few days ago re driving license…thing is when filling it in i turned the page over and first illness on form is MS and yes i had to tick it…after that i think it sunk in what is really wrong as have been 16 months waiting on a firm dx…just wondering when did everyone else have the moment when they realised what it meant to have MS?

thanks again

barry

Hi Barry, I was dx 6 yrs ago next month, it took me a long time to admit to myself I had ms. I think looking back It actually sunk in when I was struggling with work. My company were brilliant and moved me to a home ( I was an assistant manager of a residential home for young people with learning difficulties) that was only a couple of miles from where I lived. Previously I was driving 50 miles to and from work everyday. I am still with the company and I now manage 2 very small homes and I get fantastic support. Both homes are disabled friendly so I feel I am very lucky. Sorry for long reply but there really is a life after dx. Take care. Karen

Writing to the DVLA, I think. Although it felt as though I was writing on behalf of some other poor woman, a bit.

Alison

x

I always thought that I was quite calm and phlegmatic about the whole thing but there have been a few “OMG this is real” moments eg:.

• Having to “admit” MS to the DVLA (even though I hardly ever drive now anyway)

• Applying for my blue badge (which I now realise that I delayed doing for far too long)

But, the worst moment (but the funniest too tbh) was last week when an OAP - who did not look in the best of health himself - stopped me as I was carefully picking my way across a treacherous local pavement with my stick and also holding Dai’s hand and said “Oh you poor woman” to me and “What is the matter with her?” to Dai.

My first piece of unsolicited public sympathy and my first “does she take sugar” moment. A real double whammy :slight_smile: