Wheelchair recommendations please

Hi,
I now need to invest in a wheelchair.
I want something that is as light as possible, and easy to fold in order to transport in the car or by aircraft.
I realise this will be reflected in the price.
For what its worth I weigh about 75kg, 5ft11in tall and a male.
Really grateful to receive recommendations from forum members
Many thanks

Hi Ulsinus I’ve no experience of wheelchairs but if you can get yourself to a Mobility shop they will talk you through various options and let you try them out. Good luck- happy shopping!

1 Like

Thanks Hank Dog.
A good suggestion.
And what I would really value is taping into the experience of people who have bought a light weight wheelchair and their recommendations.

I have a more substantial electric chair as I’m over 100kg and it weights 27kg, but got my Dad (age 91) a Pride i-go lite chair last year. At 75kg you’re well inside its weight limit. The chair is only 19kg, so a doddle to lift and folds up nice & small. Part carbon fibre so looks quite cool! 5’11" means you’ll sit on rather than in it but if you want the folding & light weight, that’s the trade off. You can pick them up on ebay 2nd hand from about £1200, I think they are nearer £2000 new. We bought 2nd hand.

Hi Ulsinus

Don’t know if you’re set on a wheelchair but I use a mobility scooter. Mine is the Pride Gogo Elite Traveller Plus and I’m very happy with it. It’s a boot scooter so fits in the car by coming apart into 4 pieces. I’ve also taken it on several flights , trains and underground. It’s very manoeuvrable and for planes you can take it to the door of the aircraft. On eBay £3-400.
Hope that’s helpful
Good luck
Adam

Thank you all for your input and suggestions.
I currently use a Travelscoot Escape lightweight folding mobility scooter to get about. It ‘lives’ in the boot of the car. Unfortunately my MS has progressed to the point that I no longer can get on and off it easily which is causing me concern.