Vivian

Hi all,

Can anyone give me any help please? I suffer from secondary progressive ms and until about 3 weeks, I have been taking Mirtazapine as a antidepressant and have taken it for about 6 years. I recently reduced the dose gradually under guidance of my GP and 3 weeks ago, I have swapped to Fluoxetine 20mg at the min. I wasnt too bad for first few days although the side effects are not too good, namely, insomnia, hot sweats appetite not good. Also, with the hot weather and maybe withdrawal of the Mirtazapine but the last 2 weeks, I feel dreadful - permanent pins and needles, my legs feel heavy and shaky and my fatigue is through the roof. Does anyone think it could be an exacerbation of my MS or medication related please? Thanks in advance xx

Hi Viv

I think the best thing to do is get back in touch with your GP and also speak to your MS nurse. I’m not a medical expert, so sadly can’t really give a valid opinion. It might be worth speaking to a pharmacist too, as they would probably be able to give some advice on side effects & withdrawal.

The heatwave may also be contributing. It’s very common for heat to make us feel rubbish and exacerbate symptoms. So things may improve with the drop in temperature. Sorry I’m not qualified enough to help more!

Dan

Thank you so much for taking the time to reply to me, I realise I’ve got a lot going on at the moment but just a bit scared of a major relapse. Thanks again, hope your well x

My legs feel as though they are filled with lead at the moment. My walking distance on a ‘good’ day is minuscule, but for the last couple of weeks in the unusual hot weather, I can barely walk 2 or 3 metres. And as for standing up for long enough to pull up my own pants, it’s just not happening.