toothbrush question......

hiya

carer took me to dentist yesterday. he asked how i thought my teeth/mouth was doing. i said that even after brushing i dont feel my mouth is clean. he agreed that condition was not as good as before. i have been using electric toothbrush for over 2 years because of am weakness/co-ordination. when i tried my normal brush i bashed my lips/mouth cot its been affected too (strength and more so co-ordiation) i used adapt cutlery but wondered if there is a toothbrush with big chunky handle i could try? my dentist says they exist but doesnt know where! if i cant find them then he will try to source such a thing if i cant but i am just enquiring in case someone on here knows of something/company that could help. i will contact physio/ot on mon to see if they have any suggestions (am guessing ot will be better)

i have had a look an ama*on but havent seen anything suitable.

ellie

hi ellie

i just googled your problem and although couldnt find anything for the toothbrush, i did find an alternative for flossing,

WATERPIK but they are expensive.

good luck

carole x

1 Like

Hi ellie

Do you shop on ebay? try searching slip on toothbrush handle. They are made of a rubber type fabric, that slot over a normal toothbrush.

xx

thanks both.

no re ebay…

found the foam stuff on ama*on. i wonder if that will slip eventually??? i know i will not be gentlest/ steadiest at this! though maybe worth a try…

will wait til i talk with ot/get other reples-thanks girls

Hi Els,been a while.The way to stop the foam slipping is for a person with decent hands to affix a couple of cable ties.(Trim the tails down with nail clippers) I made ‘Chunky cutlery’ out of things with nice handles from the £ shop, the relevant piece of cutlery,a gas ring and the remaining neuron in my bone-rich skull.I might have a photo of the whole set.

I’ve now got a ridiculously expensive titanium spork which fits well in the paw and is good for all shovelling.

Laters, S xx

1 Like