Forum

told her!

Afternoon pals!

Just been for an assessment prior to having toenail surgery. I came out in tears and was made to feel very unimportant and a nuisance time waster!

Well guys, you know me well enough to wonder what happened and that I am not a problem patient…Yorkshire lass or not!

After several years of putting off the advised surgery, I finally agreed to it and today was my pre- op assessment.

I got there in good time and was a tad taken aback not to see my usual podiatrist. It was a woman I had never seen. Not to let that be a problem, I asked if I was still having the assessment. Yes, I was…fine!

As I wheeled into the room, this woman looked at the couch, then at me, as if she expected me to get onto it.

I said I can’t get out of my chair without a hoist. She said, ‘Well how am I supposed to know that?’

I thought to myself, ‘Aye up! This is a clever piece!’ I said, ‘Hasn’t Debbie told you, or isn’t it in my notes?,’

She said she hasn’t had time to speak to Debbie or read my notes. Then she said ,‘Why are you in a wheelchair?’

I felt like saying, ‘Cos I’m too chuffin idle to walk!’ But no, that wouldn’t help matters! I was told I would be asked questions re health and a Doppler test would be done. She asked if I needed my nails looking at and I said yes, as one was very sore again. She took my shoes and six off, clipped the sore nail, it chuffin hurt and my toe jumped.

Now like most of you, I have no control over my legs or feet movements. She seemed annoyed when I said ouch!

Then I asked if she could pack the corner. She said she didn’t believe in packing, but if I wanted it packed she would do it.

She followed that with replacing my shoes and sox. I asked what about the Doppler test. She said, Oh I forgot. Thank you for reminding me.’