suprapubic catheters has anyone got any new views?

Hi

I’m 70 and it has just been suggested by my neurologist that the next step in managing my bladder issues and UTIs ( 5 in 4 months) might be a SPC rather than ISC 3 - 4 times a day. I see the last thread was in 2014 and I just wondered if there were any new views. I read conflicting reports of increased UTI or decreased UTIs and am thoroughly confused! I have very little sensation left in my body and am worried that i might pull it out by twisting too suddenly etc. I once managed to fall over by having one foot on top of the other without realising!

Hi Mike

I suspect the primary target for you question is men, because ISC and SPC is very different or men and women. Also bladder management is so individual, what suits one person won’t suits the next. But still, here’s my view, from a woman’s perspective, having done both.

I’ve been using ISC since January 2012. And mostly had very little trouble. A few UTIs, but actually less than most medical professionals would expect. But then I had a long period of feeling like I need a wee all the time, it was tested with urodynamics and didn’t seem to be caused by bladder spasms, but still … it was decided initially that I should try Botox. That didn’t work because basically I wasn’t having bladder spasms. So it was felt instillations of Cystistat might help. This is like an extra lining on the bladder wall introduced by syringe into the urethra.

That didn’t help either. So given that I was still having the same feeling of needing to wee even though I’ve never been incontinent (sphincters won’t open on demand so incontinence is pretty much impossible!) it was determined that it was urethritis. And we agreed to go ahead with an SPC. I did this in March. And it was fairly uneventful.