Relapse and uncaring employers

I’ve been struggling with a relapse for the last two weeks and have still gone to work everyday. Thankfully I already had a review appointment with the neurolgist today. He said that the only way I’m going to recover from this is to take some time off work. He said to take two weeks off and then to work half time for the next four weeks. This is the first time I’ve taken sick leave since being diagnosed.

I work full time as a deputy practice manager in a gp surgery. I rang my manager when I left the hospital. I told him what the consultant said about taking time off. He said ‘That’s going to make things very difficult’. He said ‘I suppose you will have to do what the doctors tell you but see how you feel over the weekend’. I’ve already had an application for leave over Christmas denied and told it would be awkward if I took time off at the end of the financial year.

If I could afford to I would tell him to poke his job but unfortunately, like most of us, that’s not possible unless Mr Lotto smiles on me. I’m so frustrated and cross right now!! I don’t want to take time off but I’m so exhusted at the moment I’m pretty useless when I’m at work anyway.

Sorry for the rant!

Lynne

Hi Lynne, makes it doubly hard when bosses tell you you cant be sick! Thing is if you dont heed the advice of the neuro, you`re likley to crumble in front of your unsympathetic manager.

I faced a similar reaction when I went sick. I thought my manager was a good friend…nah, not when push comes to shove!

Get yerself a sick note and look after number 1, yeh?

luv Pollx

Dear, dear, dear me. Is your boss normally OK and you just caught him at a bad moment, or is he always a snivelling inadequate?