not coping

I have been with RRMS for just over a year now and I used to be confident and strong.

I have returned to work after a period of sickness. I am so worried that because of my lesions and my new MS me, I now can’t cope with any stress and will have to stop working. I am in a job which can face stress daily.

Now, at work, even if the smallest, or biggest thing goes wrong, I have these feelings that I cannot shake off. It feels like a panic attack but can last for a day or longer. my ms symptoms grow stronger. I ache with worry. I want to just shut down. I can’t concentrate on anything and I have chest pains.

I need to pay the mortgage.

I feel vulnerable and can’t share it with work for fear of losing my job. I can’t share my cognitive failings with work either,

I am a teacher, I lose my words, can’t focus, struggle with multi-tasking

I am not me?

Arrrgh!

patience

i know what you mean. i was a teacher but took a sideways move to woek for surestart. as luck would have it a change of government led to the funding for surestart being reduced or ended. the local authority wanted very much to keep the focus on inclusion so i became an advisory teacher.

this role was great at first but then became a bit of a dumping ground for other tasks. stress was wearing me down so i took early retirement on ill health grounds.

do you think this could work for you? under law the employer has to make reasonable adjustments. would fewer hours, an extra body in class, time for admin help?

i don’t know your age. i was 50 when diagnosed, nearly 60 now.

access to work can be a big help as they will discuss/suggest reasonable adjustments.

talk to your union rep because although the unions don’t have as much clout, they can still help if only by understanding how hard it is for you.

you are getting stressed and we both know what that does for us.

if things get no better, see your gp and take more sick leave. it’s like when ms moves in part of ourselves moves out.