Work advice

Hi all,

I am a newbie to this site after being diagnosed last Monday with RRMS. I am 30 and have had two episodes to date, the first last year lasting about 6 weeks and the second earlier this year which has been going on for about 4 months now albeit the symptoms are faint. It has been a challenging first week getting my head round it all but I am trying to be optimistic and just take and value each day as it comes.

I am waiting for appointment with the MS nurse and my list of questions gets longer by the day…! I have immediately changed my diet and removed alcohol, dairy and gluten after already giving up sugar last year (I cope by doing stuff!!) as I read that this was a good thing to do to prevent a relapse. I also read that stress is a big factor and this is where I would value some advice.

I have a fairly senior job working in a medium sized public sector organisation (850 people) and to date have often been quite able to manage with a heavy workload. I have told my boss about my diagnosis and she has verbally been supportive accepting that I need to cut back and manage my stress levels much better. However after years of always saying yes to extra work, this isn’t as straightforward as I had naively hoped and I am finding that more work is coming my way. I am uncomfortable about using my diagnosis as a ‘badge’ but also recognise that she is new to this and won’t know what I need so I need to be clear when things get too much.

Has anyone experienced something similar or found some tactics that help to remind people? I am scared about having another relapse so I want to do everything I can to be healthy, I work in HR as well so ignoring that I probably should know the answer to deal with this, I can’t really access much support internally.

Thanks in advance :relaxed: