Struggling :(

I’m really struggling at the minute

I’m a teacher, age 33 and I’m about to go onto reduced hours in work. I’m so worried that the decrease in wages will leave me short. I’ll be ‘losing’ the equivalent of my mortgage payment each month, but I also absolutely cannot continue full time. I’m also finding this hard to accept as I very much feel like MS has total control over my life at the minute, whereas usually I remain positive. This is the first major change I’ve had to make since my diagnosis of RRMS around 4.5 years ago.

Also: I’ve always found fatigue a struggle, but I’m in the middle of an ‘episode’ now and just can’t seem to shake myself. I usually remain very positive but I’m struggling.

It’s affecting my relationship badly. Can we expect others to just understand, or is it okay to say it’s a problem if they don’t?

2 Likes

Hi there Amy…

The most important thing is your health - nothing else comes close. Working less hours is almost priceless.

Having said that bills need to be paid, I work 4 days per week - I would love to work 3 but I do like having spare cash for things. It is all about work/life balance, watching your budget etc.

Can you pick up more hours in future? If this is your first major relapse short term it will be hard, but you have to put yourself first. This will pass and you will feel better with RRMS.

Hopefully your partner is somewhat understanding and will help you get through this. I am 3 months into a relapse and I am getting used to numbness, energy levels etc…my partner thinks I pick & choose my moments to be unable to do things, but as long as I know the truth - that is what counts.

It will just take time - do not be hard on yourself and try stay positive :sparkles:

2 Likes