Having to leave work (Teacher) - please help

Hi Guys,

I have recently turned 30 and lost my job due to my illness. I am a teacher and have tried again at another school. Unfortunately my body could not cope - chronic pain, tremors, fatigue and hellish spacticity followed. I am now in the position of looking for work in other areas - perhaps TA or Secretarial work. I am really upset/broke/worried about the future.

Are there any other teachers out there that have had to leave teaching??

What did you do instead?

I am really depressed (I am clinically depressed) and feel helpless and lost.

Sorry for the tale of woe but I need someone to talk to. I have 1 friend in London and she is often busy so I often find myself isolated, which does not help.

Thank you for your help.

X

Hi Sorry to hear you have had to give up teaching. I don’t think people sometimes realise the number of hours a teacher works when the children aren’t there! It can be stressful without the added worry and problems of ms. I work as a teaching assistant. I have just gone through occupational health to amend my hours as I found the pain and fatigue too much, so I work part time. Would that be an option for you, to go through occupational health or go part time, or have you already tried that? Working as a TA is very rewarding, without all the added work and stress you take home with you but it doesn’t pay as well. Another career choice also depends on how your ms affects you. For example my right hand and arm have not recovered from my last relapse so doing too much typing and writing is not an option for me. Could this be the opportunity to try something else you have always wanted to do? It is difficult to think positively when everything seems to be going so wrong but I hope you find a way through Sending hugs Mish x

Hi, please dont apologise for your tale of woe. That`s what this site is for…whatever that may be. We are all here for each other.