any teachers out there?

Hi evefor.one,I haven’t been on here for a while. Been trying to find a balance between family/work &MS. 2 disastrous part time jobs later I am none the wiser. My question is-; are any of you Primary teachers who have been able to cope with teaching and manage your MS?

Im hoping to go back to teaching even job share would be great.

Theresa

hi teebird

i was a primary school teacher and loved it.

then a change of head and the appointment of a few intense characters led to a total change of atmosphere at the school.

i applied for a post of advisory teacher for inclusion.

i loved that post also but then it began to be changed, got far too stressful, i got my diagnosis and was medically retired.

so it’s not possible to answer your question, who knows if i’d have got ms if still in reception class?

access to work can help put things in place for you to continue working.

i’m sure that you will manage with the right support.

good luck

carole x

Hi teebird

im not a teacher but I’m a teaching assistant in a special needs department the students in my class are aged 11-15 so I’m not primary but my job at times can be extremely physical like physically removing a student from a room or the floor to the calm room! I can no longer do this part of my job so I open the doors. my work colleagues have been really understanding and help me out where they can. I have had a few days off work lately with fatigue and they have also been really understanding about that too. I love my job and I’m not ready to give it up yet :slight_smile:

Hi teebird

i am a secondary school teacher and a middle leader working full time. My school has been great and access to work have provided a support worker starting next week.

I am managing just about but I have to be sensible!!