Any teachers out there? Am applying for a teaching job 'with MS'...

Hi

I’m a qualified teacher and am thinking of going back into teaching, but not sure if my PPMS will cause problems. Have just applied for a job and did not tick any of the illnesses boxes, as I’m not that bad…yet.

Would love to hear any advice or stories from any teachers with MS out there, or from anybody that knows any.

Many thanks,

Pigeon.

Gosh, no one then; it seems.

Odd.

Hi,

I was a teacher in a special school when I started having problems and was referred to a neurologist. Unfortunately I never got back to work. After my diagnosis (PPMS) I tried to go back to school, the idea was to do a long phased return over a half term. I started off by doing 10am to 2pm where I was merely observing in the class and had an hour for lunch. I went home and slept for 3 hours! My main problems are with fatigue and mobility

It was a job I loved and my GP thought I was mad for trying to return but it was a process I needed to go through as closure I suppose. To cut a long story short I applied for ill health retirement and was granted the enhanced pension meaning I would never be able to work in any job again (not just teaching).

At the time I was devastated but now I’m sure I did the right thing. It’s just over 2 years since my first referral and a year since I officially left school.

I really hope you are able to continue your career and that my story hasn’t disillusioned you. There are some diagnosed and working teachers who use the Forum so hopefully they’ll be along shortly to tell their positive stories.

Good Luck and let me know how you get on,

Sarah x

Thanks Sarah, much appreciated.

Sorry to hear about your situ. But there is so much you can offer the world of education apart from schlepping into a classroom every day of the week. I’m sure you’ve got loads to offer still, so hang in there.