Forum

newbie ms advice

hi folks.

im new to this so please be gentle with me!

been diagnosed with ms this august 2018 was a shock!

had a full spine mri which picked ms up on my neck

previous to this a neurologist said my walking problem and muscle weakness from my thigh to my foot left side which has got worse over the past 18 months was only functional and physio will sort me out!

he would not do any tests on me,but i kept pestering my g.p as i knew i was getting worse hence he referred me to a bone clinic for help who were super.

my question is i have to wait till 31st october to see a neurologist my walking never eases off its just forever there with pulling muscles it feels like from my backs of my knees up to my bum.

forever falling or tripping up over my big toe which i belive is called drop foot?

i understand there are so many types of ms i carnt work out what type i have?ive been told as some and go or affects other body parts im confused?! as my walking is slowly getting worse.

im also on esa on the wrag group as i thought i had sciatica drop foot and functional problems do i need to tell dwp my new problem and will they ask what type of ms i have?or should i wait until i see the neurologist in october for more proof?

thank you for reading

penny

Hi Penny (nice avatar!)

Start out by looking up MS - use the About MS tab at the top of this pages. Or the MS Trust webpages. That will tell you some basics. Most people start out by being diagnosed with relapsing remitting MS in the first instance at least. In this group, you’ll find about 85% of people with MS, and the progressive variety wouldn’t normally be diagnosed for some time, ie when there’s been no remission periods.