Newbie diagnosed with MS today

Hi,

I just wanted to share my experiences up until this point today…

I am female, 36 years old and started experiencing symptoms 3 years ago. I started training for a 10 mile running race, first on spin bikes and at the gym. My first symptom was right leg weakness when trying to cycle, my foot kept falling out the footstraps and I lost ability to pick it up, I wasn’t overly worried as I could strap my feet in tighter to resolve the problem.

As time went on I noticed my quad muscles on my left leg were bigger than those on the right. I was told by a personal trainer that it was normal to have some muscles bigger than their matching ones. Again I put it down to natural muscle variation.

Then I joined a running club, this was when I got scared. I was one of the faster runners in the group, but I’d do one lap of the track and my right leg would drag, my foot turn in and I would have to pull off before I fell over. I thought trapped nerve so immediately went to see an osteopath, she told me the problem was between my shoulders and advised seeing a GP.

I went to the GP, explained my symptoms and was sent to see firstly a physiotherapist after several appointments they suspected ‘compartment syndrome’ so I then had an emergency appointment to have a doppler scan done on the veins in my legs. After a chat with the consultant who did the doppler scan, he referred me to the neurologist, that was 2 and a half years ago.

The neurologist examined me and diagnosed mild spasticity and dystonia of the right leg. He then sent me to have an MRI, various blood tests, lumbar puncture and Visual Evoked Response test. The intial MRI was a little blurred but he showed me where I had a lesion on the spinal cord in the T part of the spine. The lumbar puncture CSF came back positive. VER normal and blood tests all fine except low on B12.