New symptom ... do I need to tell anyone?

Hi

I was diagnosed on 26 September and start Tecfidera on Thursday next week.

For a couple of weeks now I’ve had a new sensory symptom on my upper thigh. It comes and goes and feels a bit tingly, almost like a graze at times.

Do I need to let my MS nurse know? Or just keep a record of it?

Do you think this means there is a new lesion?

I’ve also had some neck and head pain. Not sure if this is a stress thing or related to MS?

Sorry for the questions - rather new to all this!

Hi Wobblync,

I think you need to tell your MS nurse or neurologist or both- but I am not an expert myself yet either!

I was wondering, seeing as you are starting Tec soon, what happened before you started? did you have to have a recent MRI? I read somewhere you need to have one before taking Tec (Maximum three months before). Did you have that?

I am just wondering, I was diagnosed 2nd of September this year. I have an appointment with the MS Nurse on the 28th of December to be screened for Tec- I wonder what it means, as in I wonder what he screening entails?

You certainly have had more luck with timings than I have! I am jealous! (-: It has all taken so long.

Do you ever doubt that Tec is the right medicine to take and might make things worse and that the big pharma companies are making lots of money from these medicines and keeping people ill?

Sorry to throw that in. I will start taking Tec or whatever else they might offer, but these thoughts linger in my mind.

Emily

Hi, I’m new to this too, but in general, I think if in doubt, let your MS nurse know.

I don’t know if new symptoms mean new lesions, good question, but again you could ask your MS nurse.

yes your timing has worked well. I was diagnosed two weeks ago and start treatment next week. Also pretty lucky. That’s if you can call anything lucky in this MS world!

Anjo

1 Like