New neuro - new outlook towards my diagnosis and he listens - at last..........

Hi Everyone

Just thought I would post this as I actually finally feel that all of this is not actually all in my head. I’ve been hanging around in and out of limbo for the last 12 months and have finally found a neuro with a different approach to diagnosis. Or even one that has looked at my notes properly and has actually listened.

The neuro I saw at this weeks appointment looked at my doctors notes, carried out basic neuro tests, checked my MRI results, lumbar puncture result and confirmed my suspicion that my current (now ex) neuro really is living in a different world!

He cannot believe that with all of the evidence which they (ex neuro) have collected, that I do not have a difinitive DX and have not been started on DMDs, which in his words, should have been months ago. He also cannot believe that I do not have a dedicated MS nurse to turn to in times of need.

I have had to go outside of my local area to see this neuro as the clinic I normally visit, cover a large area.

His approach towards treating MS is to treat it aggressivley and is the same school of thought as the london neuro (who wrote a piece for the times newspaper the other week). He also believes that DMDs shoud be offered after one clinical attack.

All I have to do now is persuade my GP to refer me to him and also hope that my health insurance do not consider my MS investigations as a pre existing condition and pay for a official referral.

Wish me luck!

(posting anon to protect the innoncent…)

sounds like your ex neuro is my neuro,poo is all i can say

Summat `ere I dont understand chuck…

if you`ve already seen this fab neuro, why would you need your GP to refer to to him?Am I missing summat?

pollx

Hi Poll