Mob Scoot!

Hi All.

Can I ask if anyone on the forum has got or use a Mobility Scooter?
If you have is it through Motability or did you buy it? If you bought it which make / model is it.

I am tempted to go down the Motability route for the piece of mind but then when I compare the relative prices
I think to myself “what can go so wrong that I can’t fix it”? I’m a retired Engineer (sorry) and a bit tight!

I’m so looking forward to the relative freedom it will give me back!
My local pub is beconning!

All advice / experieces will be most welcome.

Thanks
Steve.

Hello Steve and welcome, I bought my own mobility scooter from a mobility shop, it is a small one and called Micro4U. It has served me well but only able to use 5 miles, I.e. two and half there and two and half back. I would highly recommend you buy your own, especially if you can do any repairs yourself. Only don’t do what I did and lose the keys!! Found them now though. Janet x

You can get them very cheaply on Ebay - safer if you think you can fix faults yourself.

I bought mine on ebay, think I paid about £160 second hand, its one that folds up and fits in the car boot. Havent used it for a while though. I pimped it up a bit with stickers etc.

it all depends on what you want one for,you are best doing your own research online,i have a luggie and i love it,very expensive but it fits in a small car easily,and i only want mine for days out and shopping,so it suits my needs,there are more robust ones that you can go on the road with too.

you could also go to a local mobility store that as a selction you could look at and try,you dont have to buy from there.also there are lots on ebay,good second hand ones.

it will give you much more freedom and independance back too,you could nip down to the pub when you like.

but if you are using it to go to the pub… dont drink and drive, the law is something different but you can still be prosecuted…!!!