Man with MS at large in M&S

The lord help anyone shopping in a mobility scooter on Black Friday if a Tuesday morning in Norwich is anything to go by. I am new to using a scooter and, up until then, I had only pootled about in charming Suffolk market towns, which has been largely pleasurable.

My wife and I stayed in Norwich for a few days as a short winter break. Although I am able to walk short distances with the aid of a stick in familiar and easy situations, such as a hotel, I need a scooter for longer journeys for all the usual reasons.

We are both very familiar with Norwich and it is a favourite city but I had not been back since I had started using a scooter. Public buildings such as the cathedral, Norwich castle museum and the Sainsbury gallery were very well geared up with largely faultless facilities for the less able. I had a great time revisiting these and other old haunts.

As an experiment I decided that I would attempt to buy some thermal socks in M&S on my own, whilst my wife went off elsewhere. It was an intriguing experience that I am reluctant to repeat. I have no complaint against M&S as access was possible, with one exception, and the staff were helpful and personable.

Menā€™s socks were on the second floor so the first task was to negotiate the lift. I found it easily enough and waited patiently for it to arrive. As soon as the doors opened and the lift had disgorged its passengers, the people behind me surged forward, filled the lift and off it ascended leaving me high and dry. My new cloak of invisibility was working well. I tried again and failed. On the third attempt some kind people made sure I was given priority and up we went. There was no intentional boorishness by anyone I met but it was quite evident that only persons of a certain age noticed that I existed.