I'm worried about our marriage

Hi all.

I’m new to this form and hope someone can offer any sort of solace. My wife has had ms for 3 years now and although it was a turbulent diagnosis, she’s not had a relapse since. The issue I’m worried about is her lifestyle and how it affects the both of us.

She’s just seems too content at doing nothing. She works from home all day, sits around all evening and at weekends, just stays in bed watching TV. I’ve spent the last 3 years trying to understand what she’s going through and keeping on top of all the housework. I pick up her meds, take her to her hospital appointments and cook her food. All whilst working 50hrs a week myself with a lot of that working away from home.

Only recently though, have I realized the affect this has had on my mental health and I’ve now been signed off work, put on antidepressants and referred to a therapist. I’ve just ended up feeling that the women I loved is now just a person I look after.

I’ve tried motivating her, talking to her family for help and even talking to her about my feelings. It seems if I try to get her to do anything that doesn’t involve sitting around, she says she can’t do it because of her ms.

We both used to have so many dreams and aspirations but I feel like they’re just slipping away from us. I know that a healthy active lifestyle is the best thing for ms but she just can’t see it. How can I get her to change before it’s too late?

I’m worried about us both but more for the fact that she seems to have given up on life. I know this sounds morbid and I hate to even type it, but it’s like she’s just waiting to die. That’s seems terrible I know, but it genuinely feels like that.

Any advice welcome.

Cheers

Will she, in her own right, sign up here? MS doesn’t have to be a death sentence, perhaps more in the early days of diagnosis liken to a suspended sentence, an option to get on with life.