How can I help my mother?:)

Hi, im new to this but just wanted to ask a question.

My mum was diagnosed with RR MS 6 months ago and she has been having some difficulties doing certain things etc. I was just wondering what I could do to help her out? because she doesnt really seem to like talking about it so I dont know what to help her with, or what I can do for her because I just hope that she is okay but I want to do something for her, I know that its quite a broad question but I dont want her to be in pain or discomfort. Im really worried about her :frowning:

thanks in advance,

Welcome to this wonderful site. The best thing that you can do is stay as supportive as you appear to be.

You don’t say how old you are. My children are 14, 12 and 10, and I ws diagnosed with RRMS last April. My eldest daughter does all the ironing, my youngest daughter does all the dusting and polishing and my middle daughter does all the hoovering.

My husband does just about everything else! I’m really spoilt.

Your Mam has not had her diagnosis for very long, and she is probably going through a whole maelstrom of emotions.

Just let her know that you are there when she needs you, and if she feels like talking. You could try just saying like, "Mam what can I do to help, and let me know how you’re feeling.

Hope this helps

Best wishes

Freckles xxx

Hi

It’s a bit tricky to say without knowing any details. And as she’s only recently been diagnoed, she may be in a bit of a denial phase so won’t want to talk about it, even if she’s struggling with stuff, as that will mean facing up to what’s happening. I reckon give her time. You could offer to help, but I wouldn’t assume anything or necessarily do stuff without her asking. If I’m out in public and struggling with something, I like it when people offer to help even if I don’t need it, but don’t always like it when someone does something without asking me.