Helping with healthy meals

Hello, newbie here. We have a friend whose symptoms have got much worse over the last couple of years, the most visible being ataxia. What do others do on here for healthy supportive food when she cannot prepare food herself? Our friend has home help/ carers come in once a day but she and her daughter seem entirely dependent on ready meals and the microwave. We take them a from scratch meal when we can, but it’s not a sustainable solution, tried teaching her daughter a slow cooker veggie stew but … I have sent her articles on Wahl’s protocol but the reality keeps coming back to the fact they cannot prepare food. Any helpful tips would be appreciated.

1 Like

Hello. I can’t prepare food just now waiting on diagnosis and I swear by the micro Birdseye veg bags. Healthy and gives me what I need alongside slow cooker meals. My slow cooker is my go to. I make bolognese. Soups. Lasagne. Pasta bakes. Stews. Garlic chicken. Sweet and sour chicken. All has plenty veg in them. I buy prepped freezer veg. Things like chopped onions garlic peppers ginger butternut squash leeks. Makes my life easier and safer for now. Hope some of this helps x

1 Like

Putting myself in your friend’s shoes for a minute, I would welcome the friendly gift of good food, but would have little appetite for advice, however well-meant. The line between friendly support and interference can be a fine one. A good friend takes care to stay on the right side of it.

2 Likes

Alison’s right. Telling someone how to eat may not help. Living from ready meals is often as healthy as one can get.

The other thing is that some people just don’t like cooking and couldn’t care less about what food they eat.

Me, I’m a total foodie. I love food and would do anything to be capable of proper cooking again. But that’s not everyone.

Maybe let them eat how they are comfortable and buy them some multivitamins?

Sue