grinding

Im on a roll this morning, does anyone grind there teeth while they are asleep, been doing this for a while and it wakes me up, just wondered if this was a new symptom,cos i dont know.Never done this before. x

Glad you brought this up Whitespirit. :slight_smile: Not sure if I grind mine but I’ve been clenching them for a couple of months now and it’s making my jaw hurt! Hope we both get some answers.

Hello there, my dentist told me I was grinding my teeth whilst I was asleep although I was not aware of it. My front teeth were chipping and others have ridges on them which are symptomatic. I have to wear a dental plate (plastic thing a bit like the guard rugby players wear) at night. Rather uncomfortable and makes me sleep with my mouth open so giving me a dry throat and swallowing problems but I’d rather that than damage my teeth further.

Speak to your dentist poerhaps? Or MS Nurse?

Gill

My friend (who also had MS) used to grind his teeth at night, and his dentist told him that this was due to MS. He wasn’t allowed to use one of those ‘teeth shields’ (try saying that when you’ve had a few!) because of the choking hazard, but in the end his biting when asleep got so bad that he used to bite into his tongue which was extremely painful of course. I am sure that I must do a lot of tooth grinding too, as my teeth are pretty worn down.

my dentist told me that i grind my teeth although i was totally unaware.

i might try one of those “teeth shields” just for the fun of saying it when i’ve had a few!

carole x

Me too Mags! Was going to post this as a question, its driving me nuts, and hurts like hell!

I grind, clench in the night (oooh that sounds a bit odd), I have scars inside my mouth where I am constantly chewing (for want of a better word) the inside of my mouth.

hi all,