DLA driving assessment

Hi all After waiting 9 months for the reassessment for my 3 year driving licence, I have finally received notice that I must undergo a driving reassessment at a test centre. Has anyone undergone this? It’s 26 years since I passed my test and 23 years since my last bump. I am probably daft worrying but the car is critical to work & independence. Appreciate anyone’s experience. Thanks Neil

No help here, sorry, but best of luck if you need to go through with it.

V

No help here, sorry, but best of luck if you need to go through with it.

V

Hi

I went for a voluntary assessment in Derby so I could try out different hand controls.They were very helpful at the assessment centre, very understanding and happy for me to take as much time over things as I needed. I felt very supported by them, rather than feeling like they were wanting to find reasons to fail me.

Hope it goes well.

Dan

I have no personal experience but remember conversation along the lines of Dan’s experience. It was a chap I served when working so is a lifetime ago. Don

Hi Neil

Yes I went on one after the DVLA made me (1st time renewing 3 year I didnt have to do this, 2nd time I did). I really worked myself up about it - but it was absolutely fine.

Its not a driving test, they dont want you to park in a bay, reverse around corners or anything. The first thing I had to do was a reactions test, that was on a laptop and you press a peddle when the lights change, or a flash appears - took about 10 minutes. Then we just went for a 30 minute drive (in a dual controlled car - you cant take your own). When we got back they told me they would be informing the dvla that they had no issues with my driving. I had 2 people on my drive, I believe one is like a driving instructor and one was a medical professional.