Day Centres for severely disabled

Hi all

My hubby has PPMS and as the illness progresses he can do less and less for himself.

He has carers 4 times a day but he is asking if he can go to a day centre at least twice a week.

I have spoken to someone just yesterday at Social Services and she tells me as he is so dependant on others that there is nowhere that can take him. She suggests maybe getting someone to take him out for an hour…I really dont think street walking is what we both want and that’s dependant on good weather.

I know people would have to do most things for him but just the interaction with people is good for his mental stability as his memory is a big issue right now.

Is this really true? I am sure there are places around with suitable nursing care as well day centre.

Maybe I am just so wrong. What do you think?

Caz

I have no experience of this at all but I wonder if the carers association (carers.org.uk) might have some info.

The other thought that I had was to do with direct payments. Perhaps your husband would be able to cope at a standard day centre if he had someone with him. We used to have someone come to my MS chat group who was brought by a helper paid for by direct payments.

As you already get carers coming in daily you must have had a social services assessment already but it sounds as though your husbands needs have changed somewhat. You got the brush off on the phone but a direct contact might be more willing to think outside the box. You need a home visit.

Unfortunately in this era of public spending cuts it is not going to be easy to find a solution to your problem via public services - what about charitable organisations - try the disabled-directory.co.uk

Jane

1 Like