Buzzing newbie - long post

Hello all,

First time on here for me. It seems to be a very supportive place where people can just talk about what’s happening to them. So here we go!

I’ve been told I’ve ‘probably’ got MS, and am waiting for an appointment next month to ‘probably’ get this confirmed. It seems that I’ve been lucky in a way as I was admitted as an emergency patient and, though I had to stay in hospital for a week, it meant I got an MRI scan, lumbar puncture and a trial dose of steroid treatment set up in that time. I can see that a lot of people have to wait a very long time to get to the same stage, which must be a real trial. This is bad enough as it all feels unreal - they are treating me as though I’ve got MS but haven’t confirmed it yet. I am reading as much as I can about it and thinking how to plan ahead, and then feeling bad because I haven’t definitely ‘got it’.

I’ve had constant discomfort in and around my right eye and distorted vision that makes it a chore to read for about 6 weeks (this is what led to A&E admission, after a very bad visual fields test at the opticians). Unfortunately the steriods had no positive effect and its been a few weeks since treatment now. At least I can recognise and better manage the fatigue that has been knocking me out for months, though having a lie down in the sick room at work feels very odd - a bit humiliating? Though I;ve got to get over that - if I’ve got it!

The new thing that has driven me to post is the ‘buzzing’ sensation I’m getting in my left hand and foot. It isn’t very strong but it is definitely there, coming in little pulses like an electric current. I’ve also had some involuntary movements in my left hand, which sporadically gets painful and feels very heavy, and the sense that it is just about to move - which is particularly odd and hard to describe. And I often misjudge my grip and drop things… though I’ve always been a bit clumsy. Sound familiar to anyone?