would welcome a bit of advice please?

I have not been fully diagnosed as results of the evoked potentials are not back and nor is the radiologist report from my brain MRI but I have had a ‘working diagnosis of MS’ for a while (am loads better than I was) and still have weakness in my arms and random nerve pain, buzzing etc.

I had an appointment on Tuesday with the neuro who said that there were some white spots on my brain but he would prefer to read the radiologist report before going any further but to be aware that because of clinical presentation and what he could see, there is a high chance I have ’ mild MS’.

As I am well (ish) and am taking gabapantin and amytrytiline which do help loads, I am not unduly bothered and I saw the brain scans which aren’t horrendous and only show about 4 lesions which seem tiny, though I am no expert.

My question is more for advice on a personal level. My partners Mum has MS and has mobility problems, has had various hospital stays for chemo and is doing fantastically but needs a walker and gets very fatigued and has poor balance without someone with her. She is wonderful and copes fantastically but I feel SO sorry for my partner to have to even contemplate being landed with the possibility of me getting any worse. He is loads younger than me, we have a 3 year old together that I do virtually everything for (I also have others that I care for) and yet since my hospital appointment, neither of us have broached the subject of me having MS too. I was given loads of leaflets, an MS nurse to contact and told to look on here but yet I don’t know what to say to him and clearly he feels the same. I feel SO guilty to have added to the worry of his Mum having this by this being around at all.

I just have no idea what to say or how to deal with this, even though I am clearly not the same as his Mum and it is my arms that are affected more than my legs anyway.