what do you wear to a lumbar puncture?

Hi,

I know it seems like a bit of a superficial question but I have my lumbar puncture next month and I am not sure what to wear. Its a day appointment at the hospital, should I be bringing my pajamas? or just baggy clothes?

Also i know this may differ place to place, but it is ok to bring someone with you to the appointment?

ALSO i was planning on going back to work the next day until i came on here and read about the killer headaches. would it be advisable to book days off?

Thanks guys

Ruth

I wore jeans and a jumper which was fine . My husband took me and came in whilst it was being done. I never had a headache luckily.

I wore tracksuit bottoms and a t shirt. I think any loose clothing will do.

As for work it all depends on the person. I think going in the next day should be fine.

I does`nt hurt.

I wore comfortable (yes, baggy) clothes.

You will need to talk to your hospital about having someone with you - there will be no problem about someone to wait with you before the LP and afterwards, I’m sure, but your companion might be less welcome when the LP is actually being done. But I don’t know - you need to check it out with the hospital.

I was OK to go to work the next day, but I had a desk job. I would not have been keen to go to work at a physically demanding job the day after. But why not see how it goes? If you aren’t well enough to go to work the next day, then phone in sick. But if you sail through (and most people do) then you won’t have wasted a day of leave!

My experience was that the anticipation of an LP was pretty unpleasant and sweaty-palmed, but the procedure itself was completely fine. I hope that you find the same.

Alison

Thanks guys. It’s good to have this cleared up. Worrying about everything so I thought I would try strike something off the list. Glad nobody said hospital pants as they do not flatter my arse

Hi Ruth, welcome to forum.