wanting to meet new circle of friends with MS

Hi, I am new at this so a bit nervous. My husband has MS, he has had it for many years and never come to terms with the fact that he will never be without this dreadful disease. He tries extremely hard but the last few years has left our relationship at the brink of falling apart. Not only has it robbed us our social life but it has left us both bitter and angry with eachother. Old friends are still around but I feel we have nothing in common with them and feel that nothing ever goes wrong in their lives and they dont understand the massive stress that we live with every day. Not only have we got money worries, we have all types of personal issues that make us extremely depressed. I say us because it effects my whold life too. I cant do right for doing wrong and would love to leave sometimes just to get a chance to live my life but I am haunted by all the past that I have with my husband and just would be so guilty to leave. Im not sure that he would though.

I would love to talk to someone in the same boat as my husband and I and maybe get him some friends with something in common. Would there be anyone who would like to befriend us ? Shelley n Brendan

Hi Shelley, just thought I`d be the first to reply to you. Welcome aboard this rocky ship hun!

I`m not in exactly the same boat as you and your OH, but am stuck with an incurable condition which is similar to MS. Hubby is my main carer and I do have 3 others. Without these 3 lovely ladies, our marriage of 42 years, may not have survived.

It is a struggle to be nice to each other when some times are more fraught than others.

About our friends who let you think life is a breeze for them…I doubt it is hun, they just dont mention the bad times.

luv Pollx

Oh dear Shelley, it sounds like you both need some support at the moment, and I think it’s a really posistive thing that you’re asking for it.