Trouble sleeping

This is my first post in many years…

I’m really struggling to sleep, I go to bed early as my body has given up the ghost, but my Mind WILL NOT SWITCH OFF

i’ve even been to the doctors for prescription sleeping tablets that have no effect.

i’m writing This at 2am and I’m open to suggestions that don’t involve copious amounts of alcohol, I still work and will be tired all day and even more easily fatigued.

Any suggestions please

Thanks

I almost don’t want to say it, but I rarely have trouble sleeping, I just die for about 5/6 hours and that’s it, nothing wakes me up.

My wife stopped sleeping in our bed back in December because of pain in her legs, I do remember having trouble dropping off at the time - it all felt a bit weird having no-one to snuggle up to after 47 years and was too much of a change for me.

I solved the problem by glazing pots in my head, I’m an amateur potter and have usually got a few pots on the go at any one time, so I just played with different combinations of glaze in my head and soon nodded off.

I think the important thing is to stop your mind from trying to solve the world’s problems, concentrate on something that doesn’t really matter, try and revisit a favourite woodland walk in your head, or something else relaxing, whatever floats your boat.

Another technique that I’ve just remembered that I’ve used in the past is to talk myself to sleep. I’ll try and describe it, first of all you be comfortable and

Start at the toes and say to yourself slowly “Toes go to sleep”, repeat three times and then continue with feet, ankles, shins knees, thighs etc… Before you move on from one body part to the next you have to sort of feel that your toes have gone to sleep,think of it almost as self hypnotism, if it works for you, you’ll understand what I mean - I’ve never got as far as thighs.

A couple of glasses of wine is not a copious amount of alcohol and might help.

1 Like