Tecfidera

Hi,

I am new to blogs and forums etc so forgive me if I dont get it right first time :slight_smile:

I was diagnosed with MS in the summer of last year. Initially I was on Copaxone daily injections but I gave up on them just before Christmas for various reasons.

I am about to start on Tecfidera and I’ve read up on it all but I have one question? What is the reason behind the blood tests? From reading between the lines I have guessed that the medication affects your white blood cells which can make you more prone to illness/infection??

Also I am only 30 and have a 3 year old daughter. Obviously MS is a progressive disease and will worsen over time. Has anyone who has lived with it for a long time have any advice on what I can do personally i.e. diet etc to try and fight this! I am quite a stubborn lass and I have the view that I dont have MS, it has me and good luck to it as I dont go down easy :slight_smile:

I hope you are all well and I look forward to nay replies,

S x

Hi Sadie, I have just replied to you on my post too. I’m 29 and have a 3year old son. Haven’t got any answers to your questions as only been diagnosed for 3 months but wanted to say hi :slight_smile: xx

Tecfidera reduces your lymphocyte blood cell count. It is an ‘immuno-modulator’.

As such, it can make you vulnerable to a very nasty bug which you possibly have already been exposed to. This world is a dirty place and our natural immunity keeps us safe despite already being ‘infected’. Any potential change to this natural balance needs to be monitored.

But do not worry. This is something everyone is aware of and it takes a long time to develop into something worrisome. Hence the blood tests at least every 3 months. Tecfidera is not something that would cause you to suffer twice as many flus each year, or to make colds persist for twice as long etc…

As for MS being ‘progressive’… well yes… it can be. But by that same token, it might not be. So be optimistic.