Suspected MS

I have been attending hospital for the last 2 years, initially supected of having fibromylgia, I had an mri done last year which showed 3 brain lesions. These were identified 6 years earlier by another neurologist who thought they could be migraine related. I had an lumber puncture done about 1 month ago and it came back that the spinal fluid was clear. I will see the neurologist at the end of the month. My symptoms are tiredness, heightened skin sensitivy, headaches, weakness in arms/leg/knee, electric shocks occasionally in back and fingers, dizziness, neuralgia, pain in back/legs/neck etc, hearing problems. At my last neuro appt The neurologist identified low Vitamin D, problems with reflex and plantar as well. My doctor says that this means I dont have MS, is this the case if your lumber puncture is normal? Is it also normal to have floaters etc in your vision 4 weeks after a LP. Any advice would be appreciated

Hi Ange

Sorry to hear about all of your symptoms.

I would say try not to second guess what will happen at your neuro appointment - it’s really hard not too, though. I have tried to infer what my neuro was going to say before every appointment and I was wrong every time!

Obviously I am no expert (was only diagnosed in June) but I would say the vit D deficiency, reflex and plantar issues are more indicative of a neuro issue than not. But I could be wrong. Especially since what I am saying contradicts your GP!

I’ve never had a Lumbar Puncture, so I’m afraid I can’t comment on that.

I would say for now, try to relax about it as much as you can (easier said than done, I know) and just wait for your neuro appointment. We can never know what the neuro will say before the appointment and when we try to guess, it makes us crazy

PG xx