Forum

Students ... being involved with their training

Hi everyone. I hope this is ok, as I thought this would be a great place to ask advice. After several years of hiding away from my old life as an Occupational Therapist I somehow have become involved with a training course for health students . I have to say … I have been very brave and used my brain ( very shocked it still worked !!) and completed a couple of talks to students about ms and stuff you don’t read in the books.

So I have been asked to think about how ’ services user’ / ’ patients’ or whatever we are referred to as these days could be involved with students training on placements . I started thinking about my experiences as a student, then being monitored/ assessed / observed by a student and just thought I would ask everyone else about their experiences or what you think about it.

I came to the conclusion that the student is there to train as a nurse, ot, physio, social worker but reason the student is there is for the person so surely that person should be involved with the feedback to their learning/ actions or what they should learn etc.

There are so many tick boxes etc that surely the person who is benefiting ( well hopefully) from the student should say … Well they need to improve on or learn about that …etc.

Any ideas, thoughts, experiences ??? I would be grateful for your opinions.

Take care everyone xxx

1 Like

hi lexi

good idea to be involved in students’ training.

i’ll try to come up with ideas (not just now because i’ve been out boozing!).

i wasn’t aware of being referred to OT but one arrived and i’m grateful every day for my grab rails in the shower!

those little things that i didn’t know i needed are wonderful.

what i really loved was that i was asked about what made me feel unsafe and then advised on how to make it safer.

carole x

1 Like

Hi

Good idea.

For many years I used to attend Hope hospital Salford , now Salford Royal.