Advice for a student nurse on a neuro ward

Hi all, I am a student nurse about to start my placement on a neurological ward which I’m very much looking forward to. The ward will be caring for people with MS and I was wondering if there is any advice or tips people could give me to give people with MS the best care? Or is there anything I can do no matter how small which can improve a person’s stay on the ward? Thanks.

Hi…May I thank you for taking the time and being proactive before starting your placement, its very commendable. Regarding any advice and tips…I recommend you read up on here some of the symptoms we all suffer from time to time, they are vast and different for everybody. This should give you a better understanding of MS hearing it from " the people in the know" Showing a greater knowledge and understanding of what we go through will go a long way with us, (me anyway)… Good luck in your placement and I hope you enjoy it.

Ah, how sweet to want to get it right…

I dont have MS myself, but whoever anyone is and whatever they have, being treated kindly and politely makes a big difference. Being in hospital can sometimes be a scary and anxious time, so if you have the time, spend a few minutes asking patients how they are?

I also find it so important to be told what is going to happen, so we feel involved with our care.

Good luck for your time on the ward.

luv Pollx

Taking time to listen and being helpful. After my first fingolimod pill last week no one on the ward knew how the rest of the pills would be delivered, so we went to neuro outpatients to ask. The nurse could not help enough. She was superb, to the point of my other half commenting she will wished all nurses/doctors were like that. Trying your utmost for patients breeds trust and confidence in their care