steroids

Hi everyone! I’ve recently been diagnosed with MS after getting symptoms of numbness in my legs and now in my right arm and hand. My neurologist gave me steroids (prednisolone 5mg) to hopefully ease the numbness i’m getting but i’m just wondering how long they take to kick in? I’m taking 6 tabs a day. I only started taking them a couple of days ago so i know its still early days but thought i might be starting to feel some improvement by now even if it is minimal. I’ve been given a weeks supply. Any experience or thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks

Hi I had iv steriods and theu said I might not notice any improvement for a month. I am 3 weeks in and have days when things seem to improve but then go back. I don’t think there is a quick fix for the symptoms. I’m really new to this only being diagnosed 3 weeks ago. I don’t know if oral tablets are different. Hope others can advise

Thanks for your reply. I’m new to this too. Only found out my diagnosis on wednesday. Have loads of questions but so glad forums like this exist so we can all learn and help each other.

Hi Jen. They take a while to kick in as such.

I have had pred previously when my asthma has been bad/chest infections. I usually have to take 8 a day for 1 week. I don’t find they do much until the course is almost finished and really feel the benefits the week after.

I can’t compare it to MS symptoms, but I hope it helps

Angela

xxx

Thanks Angela. I’ve had the numbness in my right hand and arm for nearly 4 weeks so think i’m maybe expecting too much too soon from the steroids. Have hardly any feeling in my hand which is really a nuisance more than anything as i’m right handed so do everything with that hand so the sooner it goes the better! Thanks so much for your reply x

Hi,