Self catheters and UTIs, question mainly for girls

Hi everyone, I am looking for some advice please.

I have been using catheters for a couple of years now and recently I have had a UTI every couple of months. This last UTI needed a 2nd lot of antibiotics and so the doc has given me some differnt ones. My question is, could I be giving the infections to myself? I can’t think of any other thing I can do in respect of hygiene.

I’m thinking of not using the catheters for a while to see if there’s an improvement.

I only use them last thing at night and first thing in the morning on advice from my Neuro. This is supposed to help to prevent UTIs it seems to be doing the opposite at present.

Any advice on hygiene girls would be appreciated

Wendy x