Self catheterise or not?

Hi everyone, hope you’re doing ok

I’ve been using catheters for a few years now and I wonder if anyone thinks that using catheters can give you more infections than they’re worth.

This year I’ve been so careful (well I think I am) with cleanliness but still keep getting infections. I’ve had so many doses of antibiotics lately that the doctors have advised i go on a mild one all of the time. I’m not happy about this but I suppose it’s better than having high doses of antibiotics. Nearly ended up in hospital last month the infection was so fierce. I’m seriously wondering if I’d be better off without them (My former Neuro said I should use them first thing in the morning and evening. Just wondering what you’all think about this.

Wendy xx

PS cranberry pills seem to be helping at the moment.

Hello

I have been doing ISC for about 8 years. I’ve only ever had two serious infections and they were nasty and I ended up in hospital. I suspect they were caused by the type of catheter I was using. I have also had a couple of minor infections that did not cause me any trouble.

To my mind ISC is definitely worth while, it has allowed me to have much improved quality of lifeI.

​ admit that a blokes plumbing is different and infections are much less likely to occur.

Patrick

Hello Patrick

Thank you for the reply, you have done well, I know a chap who is in the same boat as me and is waiting to hear about Botox.Maybe I’ll persevere with it, I seem to go through phases, I hardly have any for a while but at the moment it’s particularly bad, as I said in my last post, Cranberry capsules seem to be helping.

Wendy x

Hi Wendy