scared and confused

Hi All Another newbie here. I’ve been combing these boards for the last 2.5 weeks. In short I was working abroad and was diagnosed with a bells palsy on the right hand side of my face, was prescribed steroids. Two days later I had to go to a&e as I had developed numbness on the left side of my body, head to foot. The neuro told me he suspected MS and sent me for MRIs of the thoracic, cervical spine and brain, all came back clear. Since coming home I have also seen another neuro and had an SSEP and EMG which were normal too. I realise this is good news but I can’t shake off my worry given that I still have numbnes, albeit subsided numbness and extreme fatigue. I also had pain and loss of balance but those symptoms have gone. My neuro has said he thinks this is something I should get over, that my various and ever changing symptoms make it less likely to be MS but as I was told it was MS in the first week I’m finding it difficult to believe. If anyone has any advice or guidance I would really appreciate it, I’m struggling with the whole situation. Thank you very much in advance x erything, it’ it

Hi and welcome to the forum,

Sorry to hear you are suffering with so many symptoms at the moment. Just a thought but have you had your bloods checked? Sometimes vitamin deficiencies and other conditions can mimic MS like symptoms.

It can take a long time to get a dx of MS as there has to be the right amount of clinical eveidence, in the right time frame and in the right places! I guess the best thing for you to do is try and get on with things as best you can, taking each day as it comes, and looking after yourself. Are you going to be seen by the neuro for a follow up? It might also be worth asking your GP about some help for your fatigue.

I hope things improve for you soon, people on this forum will always try and help as much as we can.

Lx

Hi