Rebif and suicidal/self harm thoughts

I have been on the titration pack of Rebif for just over a week (had 4 injections) after having a very bad reaction to the 44 over 3 months ago (crippling flu symptoms). It was stopped after 3 injections, and after a break we’ve now decided to start again in the titration program. I’m no beginner to DMDs - I’ve used Copaxone and Avonex in the past.

I’ve had depression for over 20 years and have managed it fairly well with with medication. I’ve had occasional suicidal thoughts and some self harm, but nothing prolonged or needing treatment. However, since I started on the Rebif this time, I am consumed particularly by a self-destructive thought pattern that is there almost 24/7. I have never experienced anything like it.

Has anyone else ever had this with Rebif? Could it just be coincidence?

Your thoughts would be much appreciated, I’m driving myself mad here. Obviously I will be speaking with my MS nurse.

Sarah

hi sarah

please dont suffer in silence. see your gp as well as ms nurse.

these self destructive thought patterns have you going round in circles so some kind of treatment is needed.

break the pattern and stop the cycle.

people care about you. these boards are great because i dont know you but recognise your desperation.

i care about you.

please get treatment

carole x

I have never heard of depression being associated with DMD’s but we all react differently to drugs so anything is possible.

Suicidal thoughts are one of the possible side effects of antidepressant drugs so maybe the combination of DMD’s has done something in that way.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/2041430.stm

The main question however is surly if you have been successfully treated for depression then are DMD’s working for you and is the result worthwhile to carry on taking them.